Emily High-Fash in NYC: Day 5

by emilyhighfash

Easter Sunday was the last of my 5 days in New York City. My flight was at 4pm so I had about half the day to explore my beloved city for the last time. I decided to start my day at my favourite place, The Greek Corner and enjoyed some pancakes and a black and white milkshake. While I was there, the chef told me about the annual Easter Bonnet Parade which ran along 5th avenue from 49th to 57th where thousands of people would get dressed up in their Easter best and sporting the most extraordinary hats. “Hats like you’ve never seen before!” he told me. This sounded like a hat connoisseur’s dream! After breakfast, I hurried back to the hotel to figure out my outfit. I honestly didn’t know what to expect but luckily I had the gorgeous black hat that I had bought from P.Luca Couture the other day. If I moved fast I could pull together a quick project so I decided to do a tribute to none other than the late Isabella Blow, muse of Phillip Treacy and the queen of hats extraordinaire. With a handful of stir-sticks from Dunkin’ Donuts and some black electric tape that Dennis had laying around, I put together my interpretation of the infamous “Blow” fascinator that Phillip Treacy had made for his darling friend, Issy.

My tribute to the late Issy Blow… I bet she would have loved the Easter Parade

And yes, for those of you Jimmy Kimmel fans, Treacy had more recently made a custom “Gaga” fascinator for the lovely Lady Gags, which she wore on to an interview on Jimmy Kimmel Live  in July 2011.

Lady Gaga wears a custom Phillip Treacy fascinator and Alexander McQueen suit

I was only able to enjoy the parade for about an hour because I had to book it back to catch my flight. Dennis and I grabbed the Air Train from Penn. Station and headed over to the airport. I have to admit, I was totally terrified about flying because I hadn’t been on a plane in over 13 years. The Porter is a smaller plane so I definitely got to feel all the little bumps. I pretty much acted like a 5 year old on the plane and shouted out loud, “OH MY GOD WE’RE OFF THE GROUND”.  The poor girl beside me must have though I was a loon..

…And I guess this is it! Thank you to whomever you are if you’ve been following me on my blog through my New York City Trip, I apologize for rambling so much and also for taking so long to get all these posts up.. considering the fact that my trip was a month ago now…And to my darling Dennis, Thank you again for having me join you in New York ❤ Love you forever!!! xoxo

