Runaway Bride

by emilyhighfash

A couple nights ago, my imagination kept me up to the wee hours of the night and this is what I came up with…

It’s the day that she’s been dreaming about since she was a little girl. She’s wearing next season’s Vera Wang and on her feet… crystal encrusted Jan Taminiau’s. She’s been thinking about this day since the first day they met. And as the two of them stand hand in hand at the alter, she notices the nervousness in his eyes. His palms are sweaty… Oh God, he’s got second thoughts. “I… I…” It’s only two words and he’s stuttering…She doesn’t believe this is happening… “I… I…. I’m sorry.” Her cheeks flush red, she doesn’t know whether to feel embarrassed, angry, disappointed, heartbroken, or a combination of all those. So she flees. And as she runs, terrible, dark thoughts take over her mind. She can’t get them out. This is it, there’s no turning back now. She takes her own life. This is the runaway bride. The damsel in distress. Her ending is tragic, but her death is beautiful.

It was a little bit morbid to be thinking about this at 3 in the morning while trying to fall asleep. But I couldn’t get the idea out of my head. The day that was supposed to be the happiest day of her life, the most beautiful she’d ever felt… happened to be her very last day….This is an idea for a photoshoot. I decided that I am going to find an amazing photographer (may already have one in mind) and a wedding gown couturist wild enough to allow me to soak their gown in water… And I guess I’ll have to write Jan Taminiau to borrow some shoes…..At this point it is merely an idea..But if you know me, I have a knack for turning ideas in to reality. It’s just a matter of time…

So the next morning, I used my very limited ability in drawing and put together a couple sketches…

The Noose. This unfortunate bride was wearing a Grace Kelly inspired gown of ivory lace with a fish tail skirt and Swarovski-encrusted Jan Taminiau “Geta’s” from SS 2011

Grace Kelly in her infamous wedding gown

Jan Taminiau Haute Couture SS 2011

Death-defying stilettos. This blushing bride drowned herself wearing a tea-length chiffon bodice and organza pleated gown with 9 inch Noritaka Tatehana-inspired mary-jane stilettos

Sort of like this but with a monroe neckline

Sort of like these Jeffrey Campbell’s, but with a curved-in stiletto heel…

The fall from grace. This fallen beauty was wearing a Vera Wang deep-V empire waist Maxi. (Sorry for the lack of detail.. it’s unfinished/I got lazy/too difficult to draw someone falling)

And while browsing wedding gowns (every girl loves to do it), I found this totes-adorb tulle-tiered dress. I don’t think I’d wear it to my wedding, but  I’ll take it in royal blue or peach and it would make the perfect little summer evening dress ❤

Some Image sources:

http://www.craftisart.com/105525/merilyn-retro-inspired-tea-length-wedding-dress-vintage-style-organza-bridal-gown
http://www.weddinginspirasi.com/
http://www.virtualshoemuseum.com/
http://noritakatatehana.com/
http://www.jantaminiau.com/
http://www.verawang.com/

