Barbie and the FIT

by emilyhighfash

Thanks to my dear friend, Dennis, I was able to visit New York again for a couple of days. I stayed in Long Island most of the time but of course I had to take the train out to Manhattan at least once. And to my surprise, the Museum at the Fashion Institute of Technology (FIT) was featuring Barbie! Fashion, interior design, photography, jewellery design and merchandising students got their heads in to the pink and put together a “totally awesome” display of Barbie clothes, Barbie houses, Barbie furniture, Barbie photos. It was a dream come true for the Barbie-obsessed kid in me. I was able to snap photos of a couple of the designer’s profiles and I’m sharing them here, but thank you also to the rest of the students of the FIT who worked so hard to put together these displays. It was a dream! I wish I could have met you all to express how delighted I was to get to see your work :)))

I’m sticking in a couple extra photos from the rest of my day expiring Manhattan. I decided to finally visit the Toys R Us in Times Square for the first time in the 5 times I’ve been to NYC. For some reason I’ve never been inside it because it would be closed by the time I made my way to Times Square (Times Square is totally a late night place… everyone agrees.. right?). And just take a guess as to what I was first drawn to when I entered the Toys R Us? The Barbie house of course! It was pretttyyy neat.

I don’t believe that I will ever grow out of Barbie. My obsession began early in my childhood and I remember my first Barbie dolls being the hand-me-downs from my sister. I was a 90’s baby but I got to play with the doll that in my opinion, is the most iconic Barbie Doll ever- the 80’s Superstar Barbie:

The 80’s SuperStar Barbie, complete with tacky blue eyeshadow and tons of luminescent organza

How could you forget a face like this one?

80’s era illustrations

This is pretty much the image I am going to have tattooed:)

And now that I’m on the topic of 80’s Barbies, my post wouldn’t be complete without mentioning my favourite jewellery designer of all time, Tarina Tarantino, and how I first discovered her work thanks to her infamous Barbie jewellery collection<3

The launch of the fuschia-tressed Tarina Tarantino Barbie

TT Barbie Collection Ad Campaign

Why can’t I be a real life Barbie?

Meeting my idol at Sephora in Toronto a couple years ago (notice the black hair?) Not going to lie I was a total dork.

Tarina, her darling husband Alfonso and myself

I got my doll signed:)

Some of TT x Barbie pieces that I’ve collected over the years. It’s a dangerous obsession…

Okay and now, finally the photos from my visit to the FIT (sorry for getting sidetracked…) (sorry also for the shitty quality of the photos… All I had was my phone cam this time:( )

