Question Intent, not Action

by emilyhighfash

“Before the throne of the Almighty, man will be judged not by his acts but by his intentions. For God alone reads our hearts” – Mahatma Gandhi

“I am sure of nothing so little as my own intentions” – George Byron

“To have good intention is easy. The difficulty lies in the accurate translation of intentions.” – Myself

“Have only good intentions and let those intentions guide your actions. Fear not what others think, as judgement is not the ability of man.” -Myself

And since I’m on a philosophical rant about Intent, why is there such a discord between Western and Eastern views of Intention? It seems that Eastern culture values intent over action, whereas Western culture places greater value on action, because without action, intent is no more than a passing thought. Is this really just a cultural discord or actually a shift in views with modernization? If such a discord truly exists, how did it develop? How has it influenced the members of each society?

I’m sick of seeing quotes that look like:

“The universe doesn’t give you what you ask for with your thoughts – it gives you what you demand with your actions” (Steve Maraboli???).

This sounds like an infomercial to a book on industrial success. It’s so very individualistic, I can barely wrap my head around it… Lets raise a society of greedy bastards who feel entitled to grab at everything in the universe, and this will lead to success! I wish people would stop judging one another based on what they can or can’t do but instead recognize and appreciate the heart/intention (intention for me because I’m in psychology and emotions come from the Limbic System, the heart is just an organ that pumps blood:P) which is capable of Love- a force greater than any action.

“Yes I’m only loving, only trying to only love
That’s what I’m trying to do is only loving
Yes I’m only lonely loving feeling only loving
Till I’m feeling only loving
Ya say it ain’t loving ain’t loving my loving
But I’m only loving only loving only loving” – Alexander Ebert, “Truth”

I swear, all I’m trying to do is love. It is not your job to tell me otherwise.

