NYC + Governors Ball: Day 2

by emilyhighfash

Katie and I woke up to the sun shining in through our window on Day 2 of the Governors Ball, and needless to say, we were ecstatic! We started our day by going to the laundromat to dry off our drenched clothes and shoes from the day before, and after a hearty breakfast, it was off to the ball for us! This was quite obviously the day I was most looking forward to, as my favourite band, Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros would be playing at 5:45 at the “You’re Doing Great!” Stage. On our schedule this day was: The Rubens, Griz, Ms Mr, Dirty Projectors, Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, Animal Collective and Kings of Leon for Katie. I decided to skip out on a couple shows to stay at the You’re Doing Great Stage, because of course, I had to be front row. And front row I was. I made some friends with other EdSharpe fans and the security guard, Mike was a total sweetheart. I saw Dirty Projectors for the first time and quite enjoyed them. Finally, my favourite people ever made their way on to the stage and the crowd went wild. They opened with 40 Day Dream and closed with Om Nashi Me. During 40 Day, I managed to throw a present up on stage for Jadey (There was unfortunately, a huge gap between the stage and the barricade). I was sooo happy that Jadey wore the headdress I made her throughout the entire show. At one point I passed a card up to Alex and he asked if I was Emily and I said yes and Jadey said that they remembered me. It was a pretty magical moment…. I also managed to pass a present over to the trumpeter, Stewart Cole, when I noticed him peeping over the fence during Animal Collective. I think he looked pretty rad in my daisy shades:) Anyway, no one want so read about my loser fangirlism, so please enjoy the pictures. I’ve added a couple pictures below of the hand-made headdresses that I made- One for me, one for Jadey as well as some photos that I found from online reviews of the show:)

headdresses

Hand made clay-rose headdresses for Jadey and myself:)

All handmade!

All handmade!

Gave the top pair to Nora (don't know if she got them=\), the middle pair to Pico, and kept the bottom ones for myself!

Gave the top pair to Nora (don’t know if she got them=\), the middle pair to Pico, and kept the bottom ones for myself!

